Facebook Scrabble is not Scrabble

Facebook Scrabble is terrible, and doesn’t really resemble Scrabble at its core essence. Scrabble excellence required a skilled trilogy of (1) strategy, (2) special Scrabble vocabulary (special 2 letter words and Z, X, Q, J words), and (3) regular vocabulary.

The terrible Facebook Scrabble and its awful built-in dictionary

The terrible Facebook Scrabble and its awful built-in dictionary

The dictionary built into the game on FB has eliminated the last 2 and totally taken the vocabulary (and my edge) out of the game. Now it’s just a contest to see who has the most patience to enter unlikely word after unlikely word into the built-in dictionary to get that perfect play. That’s not skill, that’s data entry.

In regular Scrabble, if you played a word that wasn’t a word, I could challenge you and you would lose your turn. If I was wrong, I’d lose MY turn. Challenges added another level of skill that is now gone.

And now rereading this, I think this might make me an old man. Bastage, bring me their heads!

1 comment
  1. Julie said:

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning
    this blog. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now 😉

Leave a Reply

